Posted by: Spacehamster74 | 12/18/2009

Screw it, let’s do it.

So why bother with any of this programming and development stuff I was talking about in my last post? There are several reasons –

  • if I want to continue in a career in IT then I need to make sure that I'm up-to-date with the latest technology.
  • I've spent far too much time admiring the successes my colleagues have had and I've lacked the self-confidence to emulate their success.

 However, just recently I've had my own project successfully come to fruition. After so many years of trying and often failing to develop applications and get them into production, it's really satisfying to finally get some "runs on the board".

I've been reading one of Richard Branson's books – "Screw it, Let's do it". What struck me is that he's learned more from his failures then he has from his successes. I always thought that successful people always got things done perfectly everytime – apparently I was wrong. In fact, the most successful people can have a million failures behind them, but their triumphs are born from learning from those missteps.  My family believes that if you don't do everything perfectly the first time, then that makes you a failure. With that kind of attitude I'm surprised that anyone in my family is successful at anything.

All these events have made me aware that if I want to become a good Developer, then I've got to be prepared to work hard and get my hands dirty, and not be afraid to make mistakes and learn from them. It took a few regular stops and starts before I was finally able to get this web application developed. Hopefully, learning new IT skills in my spare time will help me become more successful on a more regular basis.

If I have any time, and feel that it's relevant, then I might even post some relevant articles here on my blog. Who knows? Perhaps other people might find these articles and links useful too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

