Posted by: Spacehamster74 | 01/01/2010

Legally Shrink Rapped

I'm one of those people that doesn't get all that excited about New Year or Christmas. It's nice to have a holiday, but I do resent all the commercial hype and hooplah around this time of year. To me, this is a time to quietly reflect upon the past year, spend time with family and friends and be grateful for what we have.

I'm spending New Year's Day 2010 watching Dr Pamela Connolly interview Salman Rushdie on her show 'Shrink Rap'. I find it's a fascinating insight into both his writing and his life. I also discovered that Dr Connolly has also interviewed her husband Billy Connolly in a future episode. Now that's something to look forward to.

People reading this are probably assuming that I downloaded this via BitTorrent. Those people could not be more mistaken. I actually watched this via ABC iView, which is unmetered as I'm a customer with Internode (my Internet Service Provider). Best of all, it's legal so I won't be getting any stern letters from the TV studios lawyers. I might, however, get stern letters of rebuke from people who assume that every video you watch on the internet must be illegal.

I wish more Australian TV broadcasters would take advantage of the internet and stream their shows on the internet the same way the ABC has. Obviously I would never expect commercial TV broadcasters to do this for free. I can think of several ways they could generate revenue –

  • Display commercials at the beginning of each show – especially on their most highest rating shows.
  • Or do what iTunes does and charge a reasonable fee to download and watch each episode.

If Channels 7, 9 or 10 were to stream their shows on the internet I would definitely watch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

