Posted by: Spacehamster74 | 05/28/2010

My Upskilling List

I knew that 2010 was going to be a tough year, but I didn't realise it was going to be this tough. Thanks to the support of my friends and family, I think I've come through it okay thus far. Hopefully 2011 will be a different story. And hopefully we'll all be around to see 2012. :).

Despite the trials and tribulations of the last few months, there are a few positives that have arisen from these experiences. The most important change is that I have confidence in myself now. It's amazing what a huge difference having self-belief and confidence makes to…well…everything. From personal relationships to my professional life, it seems that everything has changed. I have one software project at work under my belt that I can point to and say "Yeah, I did that and I'm proud of the work that I did.". That's never happened before.

The other change, is that I feel enthusiastic about the IT Profession again. I'm actually very busy (after-hours) learning new skills. These include –

  • PHP
  • Concrete5/Drupal (Content Management Systems)
  • .NET 4.0 
  • SQL Server 2008 
  • Entity Spaces

And here's a list of things I'll eventually get around to:

  • Sharepoint
  • ASP.NET MVC
  • Windows Server 2003/2008 R2

I have to admit, it's nice to have goals to aim for. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

