Posted by: Spacehamster74 | 08/22/2010

Unplug and drop out

I want to say right upfront that I've always been very careful never to post anything in this blog that I wouldn't say in public. I'm very aware that there may be family members, friends and even potential employers that might someday read this blog.

That being said, it's the morning after the end of the Federal Election 2010 and I don't think I've ever been as disillusioned about this country's leaders as I am right now. Bernard Keane wrote a terrific piece on Crikey that perfectly expressed what I'm feeling right now –

That, I suspect, accounts for much of why Labor now finds itself
about to be tossed out of power by even as clumsy and unfit an
opposition as this one. Tony Abbott and the Liberals retain enough basic
grasp of politics to outwit a party increasingly dominated by
apparatchiks, nurtured within the party since their teenage years, who
dispatched the only figure with experience of leading a successful
election campaign, Kevin Rudd, and have been driving the campaign of
Julia Gillard, once upon a time a formidable, dominating political
presence, with the finesse of someone driving a sports car into a wall
at high speed.

We've outsourced our Government to Professional Politicians and this is the result. A Political world in which spin and propaganda matter far more than real action and real results. The problem is, no amount of lies and spin can save the Professional Pollies come Election Day, if the people judge that those in power haven't fulfilled their promises.

And I think that's what happened yesterday evening. The Australian electorate have decided that neither side was worthy enough to rule outright, so neither side gained a majority. It'll be up to the Independents to decide who will rule Australia for the next 3 years. It is my fervent hope that the 5 people deciding Australia's political fate remain true to their principles (regardless whether they be left or right). I can respect people who remain true to their core principles and values. I cannot respect people for whom the opposite is true.

Leave a Reply

Categories

