Posted by: Spacehamster74 | 12/23/2010

On the frustrations of Pedestrian traffic

I don’t know about anyone else, but I find strolling about any crowded streets occasionally annoying. I lived in Melbourne for about 5 years, and if there’s one thing that used to annoy the hell out of me, it was colliding with the occasional pedestrian. What’s worse is, they wouldn’t apologize – they’d just give you the stink eye and shove you aside. I think that kind of behaviour is one reason I was happy to leave Melbourne and come back to Hobart. Not to mention the public transport and the social isolation – that was pretty awful too.

And now I’m starting to see the same kind of annoying behavior in Hobart as well. People just don’t seem to understand how to “give way” before they’re about to collide with someone. I think this kind of behaviour is indicative of our own narcissistic attitude about ourselves – it’s all about “me me me” rather than “us us us”. Hobart didn’t always used to be this way. When I returned here 5 years ago, Hobart was a very friendly comfortable city to live in. Nowadays it seems almost as bad as Melbourne. There’s an edge of nastiness and maliciousness that wasn’t there before.

Or maybe it’s just me. I’m not ashamed to admit that this has been the toughest year of my professional working life. I’m pretty stressed out, burned out and completely exhausted. Hopefully a 3-week holiday away from the Office Politics here at work will help.

Leave a Reply

Categories

